Living Free From Addictions Step One: Admitting You’re An Addict

My name is Megan, and I’m addicted to meaning

meaning>less



I am not being flippant when I say that all of us suffer from addiction. Nor am I reducing the meaning of addiction. I mean in all truth that the psychological, neurological, and spiritual dynamics of full-fledge addiction are actively at work within every human being.  The same process that is responsible for addiction to alcohol and narcotics are also responsible for addiction to ideas, work, relationships, power, moods, fantasies, and a endless variety of things.–Gerald May (more here)

There you have it. I’m an addict, you’re an addict.

Try to fight it…try… you still are. (wow, upon reading through this, it sounds sooo depressing… don’t worry, things will look up!) It might be an actual substance, something physical you need ( food) or don’t need (Youtube videos). It might be something you can’t see or touch– a feeling, an emotion– maybe a person (known or fantazied about). Your addiction may be lurking close to the surface or buried deep under years of ignorance or denial.Whatever the case, it’s there and it needs to be dealt with.

….When I say I’m addicted to meaning, I mean I want it badly enough that I consciously and other times unconsciously do all I can to have it. It fuels me, I enjoy it, and yet… I never get enough  to reach that desired high. Oh, and when I don’t have it… the downward spiral of addiction begins.

But I’m not wallowing here. I’m actually glad. =) —> (see, smiley face)

I see it now, so there’s hope.

The new year is coming up. And this year, I want to live free. Free from a number of things, but namely, free from addictions.

What’s next?

Well, taking one step at a time.

…step two is a’comin…

Humungo thanks to CK and MS. Love you, sisters.

2 thoughts on “Living Free From Addictions Step One: Admitting You’re An Addict

Leave a Reply

